What The Heck is a Chakra?? ..... Here is the EASY Breakdown I was searching for awhile back.

Updated: Feb 4, 2020

What the heck is a chakra?

The law of conservation of energy states, energy can neither be created no destroyed; energy can only be transferred or changed from one form to another. But what happens with the energy in your body? Have you ever told your kids or your significant other that they are sucking the life out of you? Well, they are in a way! You are transferring your energy and draining your chakra. When you are in tune to your internal energy you are able to process and recharge those areas and create balance back in your life.

Chakra are the 7 basic energies within your body that regulate all of its processes. These are the things that make you human. Think of Chakra as a two-way road between your mind and your body. What you think is going to be connected to how you feel and how you feel is going to directly connect to what you think.


Visualize your body with seven rechargeable batteries. When you are in an unhealthy relationship, let’s say your partner is unfaithful. The stress, worry, and heartbreak is going to drain your root (security), solar (self-confidence), heart (love), throat (expression) chakra’s “battery” down. If situations continue to compound and negativity continues your batteries are going to continue to drain. You need to be able to identify what energy is being drained out and you need to be able to recharge back up! This is going to continue the balance of your energy and help you heal that pain and be able to grow!

Chakra’s are positioned all over your body from the base of your spine up to the crown of your head. Knowing more about your chakra will open a new way on how you are able to heal yourself and place yourself back into a state of balance. Blocked energies in our chakra’s can often lead to illness, it’s important to learn to allow your energy to flow and recreate your balance.

Each chakra has a specific name, location, color, and function. This is going to be an overview of each chakra and the emotional connection.

Root Chakra- Located at the base of your spine, it represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded, safe, and secure. This red chakra is associated with your lefts, feet, bones, and adrenal glands. This controls your survival instincts and your “fight or flight”. Survival issues such as money and food are what can block your root chakra and manifest as fear, paranoia, defensiveness, and procrastination.

Sacral Chakra- The chakra is located in your lower abdomen about two inches below the navel. The color of this chakra is orange. This Chakra relates to our ability to feel creative, desire, pleasure, procreation, and accept change. This is associated with your kidneys, bladder, reproductive organs and glands, circulatory systems, and your lower abdomen. A blockage may manifest as emotional disconnection, guilt, or obsessive behavior.

Solar Plexus Chakra- The Solar Plexus Chakra is where we gain our self-confidence, self-worth, self-esteem, and control of our lives. It’s located in your upper abdomen in the stomach area. This yellow chakra is concerned with your digestive system, muscles, pancreas, and adrenals. Think of this as the movie “Inside Out”. This is the control center for feelings of happiness, power, laughter, joy, and anger. A blockage may manifest as anger, frustration, and insecurities.


Heart Chakra- The heart chakra is one of the most fragile chakra. Its color is a warm green and is located in the center of your chest right above your heart. This is the center for love, compassion, harmony, and tranquility. This chakra controls the quality of our love, our past loves, and future loves. The heart chakra and solar plexus chakra and closely connected.

Throat Chakra- The throat chakra is a blue or turquoise color that is located within your throat. It is associated with your neck, shoulders, arms, hands, thyroid, and parathyroid glands. This is where our energy for effective communication, self-expression, and feelings of truth and holding secrets. Being able to express your true feelings can be healed by singing or chanting. A blockage can show up as creative blocks, dishonesty, or problems effectively communicating with others.

Third Eye Chakra- The third eye is located on your forehead between your eyes. The color of this chakra is an indigo. Having a clear third eye will give you the ability to focus on and see the big picture, being able to see the inner vision, and be able to trust your intuition. This is where your intuition, imagination, and wisdom will come to you.

Crown Chakra- This is the highest chakra located at the very top of your head. The color association is a beautiful violet. This represents the ability to fully connect, spiritually. It is associated with information, acceptance, and bliss. If your energy is blocked you may feel insecure and it will affect being able to feel happiness and limit your connection to spirituality.

It is through meditation, Reiki, and many forms of spiritual healing can we learn to have all of them in balance, for mind, body and soul healing.


Let's Make Your Chakras Shine Bright


~Hillary Plauche, more about me

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All